UK vs USA?

Given the title of my last post, I was highly tempted to put the title of this post as February Drips, but common sense got the better of me.

One of the things I didn’t realise as a writer is that your stories can and do sell long after you would think they’d be of no further interest to readers. C.A.T. (published 11/03/2011 – the day of the awful tsunami in Fukushima) and the follow on stories continue to sell, and we are now nearly five years down the line.

You would expect C.A.T. to sell better in the UK than the USA because of the home-grown factor wouldn’t you? Well actually C.A.T. itself sold roughly the same number of copies in the USA as in the UK.

What intrigues me at the moment is that the Aphrodite Terra anthology seems to be selling much better in the USA than UK, if my understanding of the way Amazon rankings work is correct. This is despite the editor, Ian Sales, and at least 2 out of the 6 authors being UK based.

51TVqF1W7hL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

It could be put down to having at least one American author amongst us. [You know the old story of what they had to do to get the 007 films selling well in America… they had to add a CIA agent in. Not sure how true this really is.]

And are the Americans really more interested in literary science fiction than us Brits? If so, science fiction as a genre could become very interesting in the future.

But then I look around at what UK science fiction short story magazines are available. Well, there is Interzone, Nature Futures and Kraxon. Of course there is the James White Award which is an annual competition. And now I’m struggling… really struggling to identify any more magazines. This could be my ignorance showing…

I sometimes wish we had the old days of Interzone back, when it was under the editorship of David Pringle. I remember eagerly waiting for the next copy, wondering which worlds it would take me to this time. Yes, Interzone is more professional and glossy looking, and yes there are some very interesting stories, but it doesn’t give me the buzz it used to do. To me, it’s become too literarified and darker. But then having seen too much real horror in my life and heard about others’ horror stories, going darker would put me off.

Which means that there is room for another magazine in the market place. But I can understand why it hasn’t appeared to fill the gap the old Interzone left behind. It’s a heck of a lot of work.

There has been a suggestion that the UK hold another Worldcon in 2024. Wouldn’t it be nice to have a regular magazine, other that Interzone, coming out in time for that?

 

2 thoughts on “UK vs USA?

  1. The anthology is selling more copies in the US because the market there is bigger. I suspect it’s as simple as that. However, my Adrift on the Sea of Rains has sold better in the UK than in the US on Kindle. Go figure…

    1. Hello Ian – welcome to my blog – sounds like I’m seeing the same kind of pattern with my C.A.T. books as your Adrift on the Sea of Rains. I’m wondering if others are having the same experience and if so, it’ll make Aphrodite Terra the odd ball in terms of sales.

Leave a Reply

