Newsy ‘Stuff’

I got my Loncon3 draft programme. I didn’t put in for much (had other things to do on my list), but I’m on one panel:

 

Duelling by Starlight: The Joyful Poetry of Space Opera

Space operas are stories of freedom: from the quotidian, or the logic of history, or the constraints of physics itself … and, often, freedom of the imagination, freedom of the pen. It’s sometimes said that the futures of space opera are fantastical, but when are they poetic? Consider the wit of Iain Banks’ Culture, the baroque of Justina Robson’s Natural History, or the ceaseless invention of Yoon Ha Lee’s mythic tales: how do these writers, and others, use language and narrative structure to liberate and excite us? And in our liberation, what do these writers let us see more clearly?

Robert Reed, Jaine Fenn, Adam Roberts, Elizabeth Bear, Hannu Rajaniemi

Please remember this is DRAFT only.

On another score, my fourth C.A.T. story Space Blind got an honourable mention from the second quarter of the Writers of the Future 2nd quarter contest (and that’s without Terry, bless him, at TWBPress having any editorial input!) So I must be doing something right!!!! Well pleased about this for other (rather complicated) reasons.

3 thoughts on “Newsy ‘Stuff’

  1. Sounds like an interesting panel. I’d particularly be interested in how science fiction is poetic, especially since I’ve included a touch of poetry in my own Sci-Fi stories.

    • Hm… interesting. I’ve won competitions with my poetry including getting a third prize for a collection in a minor national competition… but shh… let’s keep this between ourselves as I’m concentrating on writing science fiction these days…

Leave a Reply

