Ideas and the Moon in SF

I came to the logical conclusion this morning that mankind must return to the Moon soon. Notice the MUST in the last sentence.

It has nothing to do with mining scarce minerals or running away from the effects of climate change… these aspects could be side effects for the main purpose. And what is that main purpose you may well ask?

Well, I’m not going to tell you. Why? Because me writing on this blog would be like a voice in the wilderness, lost in the noise of a sandstorm or in the case of this blog, periodically drowned in spam. Nobody’ll sit up and take notice. Nothing will be done about it… despite it having serious consequences for humankind.

So why bother mentioning it? Well, it’s because I think there is a serious problem about the way we treat the currency of new ideas. People grab and use whatever you come up with without a bye or leave. It’s disheartening to see this happen time and again. So much so that I’m not going to mention my ideas in the future without some recompense, like getting a story published and even better getting paid for it.

Have others taken this road of silence before me? I haven’t seen any evidence to this effect, but it would not surprise me. If it happened in Greece c. 500BC when it came up to inventing new food dishes, it certainly could happen to science fiction ideas now.

The consequences of science fiction ideas drying up, if others pursue this same path, is that the science fiction publishing industry will lose what little momentum it has for going to market. Is that a bad thing?

Well as I’ve said elsewhere, the publishing industry is interested in making money. At the moment because of the recession it is very conservative in what it publishes, variations of previous best sellers, authors with track records. But I have to admit that recently a lot of my favourite authors have disappointed me with their latest publications. It’s the same old, packaged up in a different way.

So if we break this circle of rehashing the norm, I don’t think it will be a bad thing. In fact, it might even be a good thing. Because once the publishers realise that that can’t get away with regurgitating ol’ stuff, they will be forced to experiment or whither. Some will experiment with publishing the new ideas. But I feel this is a long way off yet. And until that day comes, I’m going to stay quiet about why we so urgently need to get back the Moon.

Leave a Reply

