That Smug Feeling…

I’m having a full half an hour of feeling smug and self-satisfied. But only half an hour, mind. It won’t do to get too comfortable with the feeling.

Why, you may ask?

I’ve had the markers reports back on the manuscript I submitted for my third semester’s work on the MA Creative Writing course. Yes, they gave helpful and constructive criticism on where and how to improve the manuscript… some of which has already been seen to.  Below are some of the comments, with bits missing so as not to give the plot away.

“The plot is fascinating and the narrative world is exceptionally well constructed – this is a major achievement and essential for success in the genre – and the writer should be congratulated for how well this has been done. …  I also never lose the sense of significance I feel about this powerful imagined world. 

This simple story set on a moon of Uranus pioneers a way of writing … ; there is nothing quite like it published at the moment. It’s a hugely ambitious novel aiming to progress the genre and I think it will.” 

I could not have done this without the help of the tutors and fellow students on the course. A big Big BIG thank you to all of them.

Now, I’d better get back to some serious (or not so serious, depending on your point of view) science fiction writing. Gloat over! 

 

 

Leave a Reply

